Friday, July 12, 2013

Come Thirsty

General Analysis

Book Title: Come Thirsty

Author: Max Lucado

Publish Date: October 6, 2006

Genre: Christian Nonfiction, Inspirational

Overall Thoughts: This book was very inspirational.  It teaches about trusting in God, not worrying, and receiving God's love.  It was very inspirational and helped me to be less stressed.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

The Summer I Turned Pretty

General Analysis

Author: Jenny Han

Publish Date: May 5, 2009

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Similar Author/Books:  I think her writing style was very similar to Sarah Dessen's writing style.

Plot:  Much like the last Sarah Dessen novel that I began reading (That Summer), I thought that there was a severe lack of plot throughout the book, but nonetheless there was more of a plot than in That Summer.  Belly, the main female character, measures her life in her summer and the events that happen in the summers. She vacations at a beach house every summer with her mom, her mom's friend (Susannah), and Susannah's two sons, Conrad and Jeremiah.

Calico Joe

I read Calico Joe a few weeks ago (before I started this blog).  It is a good book and I think that it is worth writing a review about it.  I cannot remember all the details about the book (I have read so many since then), but it left a good impression on me.  It is definitely a book worth reading.

General Analysis

Book Title: Calico Joe

Author:John Grisham

Publish Date: April 10, 2012

Genre: Adult Fiction, Sports, Historical Fiction

Plot:  The story takes place both in the present and the past.  The summer of 1973 to be exact.  Joe Castle was the best baseball rookie to ever play and Paul Tracey, son of Warren Tracy, was a big fan.  Warren Tracey, also a major league baseball player, did not like his son idolizing any baseball player but him.  The events of the present were greatly influenced by what happened on the baseball field in the summer of 1973. What exactly happened that summer?  Read Calico Joe and find out!

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

The Gathering

General Analysis

Book Title:  The Gathering

Publish Date: April 12, 2011

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Similar Author/Books:  I think that the writing style is very similar to Neal Shusterman in the way that the author, Kelley Armstrong, leaves a lot of suspense to the main story line.  As the story progresses, you learn more about the main plot of the story and as soon as you think you have figured out the plot, Armstrong throws in a new bit of information that makes the story even more action packed and thought provoking.

Plot:  Maya, age sixteen, has grown up in a small town on Vancouver Island.  The town is a medical research community where even the residents do not know what exactly is being researched.  Maya takes care of injured animals that she finds in the forests around the medical town, but it seems when she is around they heal quite quickly.  Things seem strange even for this small town, when the number of cougars in the area seems to be increasing and they all seem to be attracted to Maya.

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Anna and the French Kiss, That Summer, and XVI

I have started three books within the last week that I decided not to continue reading.  They were Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, That Summer  by Sarah Dessen, and XVI by Julia Karr.  Below are my reviews of the books and why I decided not to finish these books.

General Analysis of Anna and the French Kiss

Book Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Publish Date: December 2, 2010

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Plot:  For Anna's senior year, her dad decides that Anna needs to attend a boarding school in France.

Why I Started to Read this Book: It seemed like an interesting young adult book.

Why I Stopped Reading this Book: The main character was very self-centered and annoying.  The writing style was not enjoyable.

General Analysis of That Summer

Book Title:  That Summer

Author: Sarah Dessen

Publish Date: April 6, 2006

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Plot:  After reading half the book, there did not seem to be much of a plot.  The main character's father got remarried after cheating on his wife with a coworker.  The main character, Haven, also had a sister who was getting married for the first time.

Why I Started to Read this Book:  It was on a book club reading list on GoodReads and I wanted to read a Sarah Dessen novel because I have heard that she is a good author. 

Why I Stopped Reading this Book:  There was not much of a plot after reading more than half of the book.

General Analysis of XVI

Book Title: XVI

Author: Julia Karr

Publish Date: January 6, 2011

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Plot:  At the age of 16, everyone gets a tattoo on their wrists (XVI).  At this age, you are considered legal.  The main character, Nina, does not want to become legal.  This is because at the age of 16, you are expected to have sex with any guy that asks you.

Why I Started to Read this Book: The book seemed interesting and I when I picked up the book, I did not know that the book revolved around sex.

Why I Stopped Reading this Book: First off, the writing style was not very developed.  The author kept repeating herself and kept using acronyms for things that the reader does not know the meaning for.  It gets very annoying not knowing what all the acronyms mean.  Secondly and most importantly, the book seemed to revolve around the idea that you were expected to have sex at the age of sixteen.  The main character stated several times within the first 4 chapters that this is the reason she did not want to become sixteen.  Her best friend did want to become 16 for this exact reason.

Future Reviews and Reads

I am continuing to read Everyday Deserves a Chance by Max Lucado and Come Thirsty by Max Lucado.  I am enjoying both of these books greatly.

I plan on starting The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong, Breathless by Jessica Warman, and The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.  As always, I am open to suggestions on books that I should read.