Tuesday, December 24, 2013

The Flower of Isbelline by Heidi Garrett (Queen of the Realm of Faerie book 2)

General Analysis

Book Title: The Flower of Isbelline

Author: Heidi Garrett

Publish Date: December 2012

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Find It Here:
Amazon (affiliate link)

Plot:  This is the second in a series and I do not want to spoil the first book for anyone if they have not read it yet by telling the plot of the second book.

Why I Read this Book: I was given a copy of True Loves First Kiss, a compilation of the first three books in this five book series, as part of a blog tour in exchange for my honest review.  This in no way affected my review of the book.

In Depth Analysis

This book was a lot better than the first book in this series as the plot had already been well developed.  I enjoyed emerging myself in this mystical world.  The writing style is incredible, but the ending was a little predictable and I wished there had been a plot twist towards the end of this book.  The thing that I like most about these books is the unique world that they are set in and all the unique characters that were created by this author.

Final Statements

Recommended Reading Age:  Any.  This is a clean novel.

Overall Rating:  4/5

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Blog Tour, Review, and Giveaway: TaleSpins by Michael Mullin

tale spins tour

tale spins banner

tale spinsGeneral Analysis

Book Title: TaleSpins (TaleSpins #1-3)

Author: Michael Mullin

Publish Date:  February 2, 2013

Genre:  Fairy Tales, Fantasy

Plot:  This includes three short retellings of popular fairy tales.  These include retellings of Snow White (in the perspective of the "8th dwarf"), the "Frog Prince" and the "giant, thief, and beanstalk" story.

Why I Read this Book: I received a free copy of this book as part of a blog tour hosted by "I Am A Reader Not a Writer" for my honest review.  I have received no compensation for my review.

In Depth Analysis

These stories were unique and interesting retellings.  I wish that there were not inappropriate references (drugs and sexual references), but the stories were worth the read. The characters were surprisingly detailed for such short stories.  The retellings had a good mix of the classic stories that are told to children and original content.  The last story was definitely the best!

Final Statements

Recommended Reading Age:  Although these are marketed to young adult, I recommend them to an adult audience for the few inappropriate references.

Overall Rating:  4/5

Check out the links below to purchase this book.  Also check out the praise for the book and the giveaways below.

Praise for Tale Spins

Not usually enamoured of either re-tellings or poetry I was totally taken aback by just how much I relished this trilogy of alternative fairytales and re-tellings aimed at the Young Adult market. ~Tracy (Goodreads)

TaleSpins was like walking into a vintage store and finding a true treasure. This book takes the fairytales we all grew up on and gives them an interesting and modernized version that I enjoyed. ~Rose (Goodreads)

mike mullinAuthor Michael Mullin

Michael Mullin is a native New Englander living in Pasadena. He is the author of TaleSpins, a trilogy of alternative fairy tales and retellings for YA readers. TaleSpins stories (in the 1-book collection) are "8: The Previously Untold Story of the Previously Unknown 8th Dwarf"; "The Plight and Plot of Princess Penny"; and "Jack'd". Michael is also the co-author of the successful "Larry Gets Lost" children's book series. His screenplay "Zooing Time" was recognized by the WGA's Written By magazine. Before all this writing, he taught preschool and college, two positions he found disconcertingly similar.
Website * Facebook * Twitter

Tour Giveaways

Giveaway #1 - Open to US only
Mike Mullin Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway #2

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash

Ends 1/21/14

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Day Review of Sinners' Garden by William Sirls

General Analysis

Book Title: Sinners' Garden

Author: William Sirls

Publish Date: December 17, 2013

Genre:  Christian Fiction

Find It Here: Amazon (Affiliate Link)

Plot (from Goodreads):  In a small town where hope and tragedy intermingle, things—and people—are not always what they seem.
Andy Kemp has suffered most of his life from both physical and emotional scars, and he believes that the scars on his face are proof that God doesn’t love him. Andy has grown into a withdrawn teenager, keeping to himself, until his uncle, ex-con Gerald Ripley, shows up and wants to be a mentor to Andy. Rip has turned his life around and wants to do everything he can to help mend Andy’s pain and the rift in his relationship with his sister.
Meanwhile, police officer Heather Gerisch responds to a late-night breaking and entering episode in one of the poorest homes in town. The masked man makes the sign of the cross, escapes, and Heather soon realizes that he has left $5,000 in gift cards to a local grocery store. As the bizarre break-ins continue and Heather pursues the elusive “Summer Santa,” Andy begins to hear strange and beautiful music, and Rip is convinced that he is hearing the voice of God.
As the lives and stories of the townspeople of Benning Township intertwine, extraordinary circumstances emerge and long-kept secrets are revealed.

Why I Read this Book: I was given a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review as part of the Street Team for the book.  I received no compensation for this review.

In Depth Analysis
Have you ever read a book so fast because you wanted to find out what happens in the end? I felt like that when reading The Sinners' Garden . This book is so action packed that I could not put it down. The great plot was not the only amazing part of this book though; the lessons that I learned about God while reading this book are enough to fill another book of my own. I learned more about God's love and that He loves us no matter what our faults are (or what we believe our faults are). God chooses those that are broken as leaders. Moses had a speech impediment, but God chose him to be a great leader. David was an adulterer, but He was also a Man after God's heart. God loves all people and everyone has a special role as part of the Body of Christ. I also learned about how important forgiveness is and how it can change the lives of you and the people around you. It is one of the hardest things to do, but it is also one of the most important things to do in strengthening your relationship with others and your relationship with God. I was also reminded that God is everywhere and a miracle does not have to occur to be able to speak to God. All we have to do is speak and then listen for His response (and sometimes this includes having a little bit, or a lot, of patience).

Not only are the innumerable lessons that can be learned from this book amazing, but the story alone was fantastic.  As the book progresses, the reader begins to learn more and more about the characters and begins to love them.  The mystery of the "Summer Santa" keeps the story suspenseful.  This story follows the lives of so many characters and usually stories that do this end up being confusing and hard to follow, but this book did not disappoint.  I am so glad that I was able to get an unedited ARC of this book and I cannot wait to get my hands on the final, edited version of the book and fall in love with the characters all over again.

Final Statements

Recommended Reading Age:  16+ as there are many topics that may be difficult to understand by a younger audience

Overall Rating:  5/5

Thursday, December 12, 2013

The Wayfinding Bible Review

General Analysis

Book Title: The Wayfinding Bible

Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers

Publish Date:  October 1, 2013

Why I Read this Book: I signed up to review this Bible and received a free copy for review from the publisher.  I received no compensation for my honest review.

Find It Here: Amazon  (Affiliate Link)

In Depth Analysis

I first became interested in getting this Bible after my boyfriend showed me the trailer.  This Bible seemed so new and exciting and I had been praying for new ways to dive into God's Word.  Check out the awesome trailer below:

Exciting, right?!  I then saw that Tyndale House Publishers was asking for reviews for this Bible and I signed up to review it.  A few weeks later, I had it in the mail.

The first thing that caught my eye about this Bible is the beautiful cover!  The first few pages of the bible contain a description of the different paths that you can take: the flyover route, the direct route, or the scenic route.  I decided to partake in the flyover route for this review so that I could get the review out as soon as possible, but I plan on taking the other routes later and I might even post reviews of those routes also.

I am about half way through the flyover route and so far I am really enjoying this Bible.  The major format of this Bible is that there are paths that you can take, as described above.  At the top of the page, there are three lines (one for each path) that list: which page you came from, what story that you are at, and what the next page is in the path.  I love that there are specific Bible "paths" to take.  In the flyover route, you get to read a lot of the "main stories" of the Bible, such as David and Goliath, Jonah, and the creation story.  These really help to get the "big picture" of the Bible.  There are also side paths that take you through scriptures that discuss specific topics, such as marriage.  At the beginning of each book, there are also summaries of the book and a timeline of the approximate dates the events in that book occurred as well as surrounding events.  There are also infographics on almost every page, such as maps and charts, that relate to the text and make it easier to understand.  There is a lot of historical information in the infographics and in the articles at the top of every major story that help you to better understand the time period and the events that are occuring.  The notes at the tops of the pages also give new insights to the readings.  One of the things that I most look forward to about the Bible is the chronological path that is outlined in the back of the Bible.

There are also features that I like about the New Living Translation, as I have never read this translation before.  The text is similar to KJV/NKJV, but it is easier to understand.  One thing that I really enjoy is that the calendar system is translated into the current calendar system using other ancient texts.  I like this as it makes it easier to understand the time frame in between events.  For example, in the book of Esther it states that it was about a year between when Hamon announced the decree that would kill all of the Jews and when the Jews were actually intended to be killed.  I did not realize how long of a period there was between these events until I read this version of the Bible.

Overall, I believe that this Bible would be appropriate for all ages.  It is a new way to get into God's Word and it helps the reader to understand the "bigger picture" of the Bible.

Final Statements

Overall Rating:  5/5

    Sunday, December 8, 2013

    Rook Book Blast and Giveaway!


    Could you be the monster to save who you love?

    Two women, separated by generations, must leave what they know to start a new life. Seventeen-year-old Kate's senior year is ruined when she's moved from the only home she's ever known. After an isolating month alone in her apartment, school starts, but neither her classmates nor her teacher are who they seem. Kali, a single mother living in the nineteenth century wilds of Montana, is stalked by a malicious past. She fights to keep her daughter safe while her freedom is threatened by her less than benevolent benefactor. Both find love, and with it hope, but that is quickly ripped away as one woman must learn the lessons of the other -- before it's too late to save either.

    amazon blog

    Praise for Rook:

    "This book also drew me in. I couldn't let go of what was happening and when life intervened and forced me to close my computer I kept looking for a few moments to sit down and read some more.” Brookeworm, a Blog 4 Stars

    "Rook had me hooked from the first page. It all started so mysteriously that I just had to know what it was all about. “ Jannat Bhat, Obsessive Compulsive Reader 4 Stars

    “Rook is an amazing story that had me at the edge of my seat.” Tee Loves Kyle Jacobson Blog, 5 Stars


    Is that him? Is he back?

    My legs jerked, kicking and twitching me around to face the sound. I managed to roll slightly, knocking against a soft, solid object at my feet. It grunted weakly, and immediately I recoiled as though I had been bitten. Squinting, I stared, willing my eyes to find light in the dark, but there was nothing.

    The sound of the runner drew closer, as if they would trample me any moment. A dim, swaying light appeared through the trees, burning away the inky edges of the deep shadows. When light and sound were almost upon me, branches above me snapped, spraying me in a shower of dried pine needles and snow.

    Rook copy

    Monica MAuthor Stella MacDonald

    Stella is a married graduate student with three boys. Utah is home right now, but the need to wander has extended beyond the fantasy world of writing and into real life. She's lived all around the US and even into the Middle East. The world is really a small place, only made bigger through imagination.

    Social Media Facebook Social Media TwitterSocial Media Goodreads Social Media Website

    BookBlast $100 Giveaway
    $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
    Ends 12/30/13

    Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Saturday, November 30, 2013

    Review of Book 1 of True Loves First Kiss by Heidi Garrett

    General Analysis

    Book Title: True Love's First Kiss (The Queen of the Realm of Faerie Books 1-3)

    Author:  Heidi Garrett

    Publish Date: July 18, 2013

    Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

    Plot (from Goodreads):  ~ Book 1 - NANDANA’S MARK ~

    Melia longs to fly like the fullblood faeries...
    Her mortal father plots to bring war to the Enchanted World...
    Her faerie mother practices black magic behind closed doors...

    Tainted by her father’s ambitions, Melia seeks aid from the Illustrator. She receives a strange mark on her forehead meant to bring her help. Before it arrives, tragedy strikes—and Melia’s dreams of flying coming true.


    When a dark power seduces Melia’s sister...
    And the keys to power are at risk...
    The cost of denying true love will be apocalyptic...

    Melia races against time to stop her sister from pursuing their father’s damning legacy.

    ~ Book 3 - THE DRAGON CARNIVALE ~ 
    In Illialei… A light queen practices black magic. 
    In Tyrannis… The dragonwitch rises to power.
    In the Mortal World… Umbra pursues the halfbloods as vessels of incarnation.

    Energies in the Enchanted World are shifting and new alliances are forming; the Battle of Dark and Light has begun. Melia is desperate to make things right with Ryder, the young priest from Idonne, but first she must warn the halfbloods in the Mortal World that Umbra is coming for them--and face the powerful Dragonwitch and her spectacular Dragon Carnivale.

    Why I Read this Book: I signed up to get a free review copy on Candace's Book Blog and I received no compensation for my honest review.

    About the Author

    When Heidi Garrett was a child, her mother was the most magical person she knew. Unfortunately, they were separated by evil forces and her mother died a premature death. However, Heidi never forgot Louise, so when she had the opportunity to reconnect with her beloved grandma she seized it, even though the price of that choice was exile from the land where she'd grown up. 

    Her risk was was rewarded when she found herself, once again, in a world so unusual that it had to be enchanted. After all, her grandma, Elva, was an elf. When Elva joined her daughter, Louise, in the Unknown Beyond, Heidi was inspired to write fantasy stories that would remind anyone who read them what she'd never forgotten-- 

    Once upon a time, you lived in an enchanted world… 

    She currently resides in Eastern Washington State with her husband and their two cats. So far, she loves the snow. Being from the South, she finds it very mystical.


    I was sent a compilation of the first three books in this series.  So far, I have read the first book in the series and intend to read the other books in the series very soon!

    To be honest, I have not read a fairy based fantasy book in a long time, but I am so glad that I decided to pick up this book!  The setting is a world filled with fairies, pixies, mages, and elves.  The story follows Melia, a half-fairy whose mortal father was banned from the fairy world for breaking his vows he made when he was married.  Melia, who is often teased for being half-fairy but having no wings, longs to live in the mortal world again where she will be seen as wonderfully unique instead of being made fun of for not being able to fly. But is everything truly as it seems?

    As I said before, I have not read a fairy based fantasy in a long time and I found it hard to follow the story line at first because there were so many things that are not found in our world that were hard to keep up with, for instance the features of all the fantasy races and all the places.  What started out as confusing and slow progressing, turned out to be a wonderfully developed novel.  I enjoyed learning about the fairy world and about all the different characters presented in this first book.  I cannot wait to continue the series and learn about what happens after the cliff hanger ending of the first novel.

    Final Statements

    Recommended Reading Age:  Any age

    Overall Rating: 4/5

    Friday, November 22, 2013

    Frame 232 by Wil Mara

    As many of you may know, today is the 50th anniversary of the assassination of one of America's beloved leaders, John F. Kennedy.  In memory of the occasion, I have read a historical fiction novel whose plot surrounds the assassination of JFK.  Check out this trailer for the book:

    General Analysis

    Book Title: Frame 232

    Author: Wil Mara

    Publish Date: June 2013

    Genre:  Christian Historical Fiction

    Plot (from Goodreads):  During the reading of her mother’s will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history’s greatest conspiracies: who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
    On the run from people who would stop at nothing to keep secrets buried, Shelia turns to billionaire sleuth Jason Hammond for help. Having lost his own family in a tragic plane crash, Jason knows a thing or two about running from the past. With a target on their backs, can Jason uncover the truth in time, or will this shooter finally make their mark?

    Why I Read this Book: I received a copy of this book for review purposes from the Tyndale House Publishing as part of a blog tour.

    In Depth Analysis

    The main plot of the book is based on a lady, the babushka lady, who may have possibly taken a video during the assassination, but has yet to come forward with this possible video.  The book follows the daughter of the Babushka lady, who now has inherited the video from her mom after her mom passed away.

    I enjoyed most of this book a lot.  It was filled with suspense and plot twists.  I loved the two main characters, Mr. Hammond and Sheila.  The story line was interesting to me because the author really did his research and wrote the book around the events that occurred the day of the assassination.  The book is not meant to be an possible explanation of what happened, but rather a historical fiction novel filled with action.

    The only thing that I did not enjoy about this novel is that there was so much going on at one time that it was hard to keep the characters straight in my head.  There were also some slow parts in the book, but overall it was very entertaining.  I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in American history and enjoys reading.

    Q & A with Wil Mara, author of Frame 232

    1. What inspired you to write a novel around the assassination of President John F.

    I have always been fascinated by the assassination, which, obviously, was one of the most pivotal and enigmatic events in American history. And when I heard about the ‘Babushka Lady’---one of the few people in Dealey Plaza that day who remains unidentified---and the possibility that she may have filmed the shooting, an idea came to mind that seemed too good to disregard.

    2. How much research did you do for this project?

    An unbelievable amount. I spoke with assassination experts, read literally hundreds and books and articles, pored over countless photos...you name it. My goal was to write a fictional story around the established facts rather than alter the facts to serve the story. Thus, I had to know pretty much everything. I ended up loading my brain with more data than I really needed...but I didn’t mind.

    3. How has your research informed your own theory of what happened during the JFK

    My personal theory, prosaic though it may be, is that Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone. If you want to be convinced, get your hands on a fairly rare book called Lee, which was written by his brother, Robert. Once you understand the mind behind the eyes that looked through that rifle scope, you will be convinced.

     4. What have you learned about the real Babushka Lady?

    She was wearing an overcoat, glasses, and a head scarf (i.e., a babushka), and was standing about thirty feet from the limousine when the president took the fatal shot. Most assassination experts believe she was also holding a camera---very possibly a film camera. If so, and if she had a reasonably steady hand, then she probably took the best moving images of the assassination; even better than the famed Zapruder film. Plus, she was standing opposite Zapruder, which afforded her a unique angle. And yet, we
    don’t know her name, and her film has never surfaced. And here’s the most important part about her in relation to Frame 232---she was a real person. I didn’t invent her to serve the story. If you do a Google search, you’ll find her.

    5. What is the significance of the title?

    Simple---once the Babushka film is analyzed, the key moment that helps our heroes move forward with their investigation occurs on frame 232.

    6. What role does your Christian faith play in your writing?

    It is embedded throughout this story, in a fashion both subtle and direct. I was raised Christian and have been a firm believer all my life, so my belief system is threaded into just about everything I do. Anyone who carries even the most fundamental faith will recognize the important elements in this book. The most obvious example belongs to the main character, who recurs throughout the series---he is suffering a deep crisis of faith, and the core of that crisis should be familiar to even the most devout follower. We are human, plain and simple, and as such we experience doubts about the Lord in our lifetime. So it
    won’t be hard for anyone to connect with him.

    7. Describe the role of faith plays in your main characters, Sheila Baker and Jason
    Hammond. Does this change as the story progresses?

    With Sheila, you’ve got a very goodhearted person who is experiencing a critical change in her worldview---she is coming out of the ‘money is the most important thing in the world’ phase and beginning to understand that there are much higher priorities. This isn’t to say she’s trumpeting the virtues of poverty (she still understands that it’s important to live within a certain comfortable and respectable standard). But she’s figuring out that money isn’t what a person should worship---it’s something altogether different. And there is a traceable and, I think, very satisfying arc to her story in this regard.

    As for Jason, he suffered a tremendous loss years earlier, went through a protracted nightmare period, and is starting to come out of during the events of Frame 232. An encounter with a very unlikely source helps him to turn the corner and begin a path to renewed promise---but even so, the journey ahead is going to present serious challenges for him. The good news, though, is that he has not abandoned the Lord altogether. If he had done that, there wouldn’t be any conflict within him in the first place.

     8. What lessons do you hope readers will come away with after reading Frame 232?

    I can’t interpret the story for anyone but myself, but there are a few themes at work that strike me as particularly valuable. One is that God’s path is always the right one in the end, even if it seems unimaginably rocky at times. Another is that tragedies occur in every life, that these misfortunes usually happen for a reason, and that the reason may not be apparent for some time. A third is that we need to treasure our loved ones for as long as we have them around, because they can disappear in a heartbeat.  Also, it’s important to keep getting out of bed and moving forward every day because life is a gift, and God does not favor those who waste their time and talents. If you are blessed with ability and resources (and Jason has plenty of both), you should use them.

    9. What do you have planned for your future Jason Hammond books?

    Jason will be tackling other high-profile (and, later on, some lesser-known) mysteries as the series progresses. Readers will also get to follow his ongoing struggles as he rebuilds his faith and gradually assembles his ‘new normal.’ Plus, we’ll further explore the lives of those around him (including a budding love interest, who will appear in the second book). It’s also worth noting that not every book in the series will follow a strictly linear chronology. The one I’m writing now, for example (The Nevada Testament) begins about six weeks after Frame 232. The one I’ll write after that, however (Gardner Island), occurs before the events of Frame 232 and will feature, among other things, some of Jason’s darker and more harrowing moments.

    10. What would you like to say to Christian retailers to help them promote Frame 232?

    I have tried like mad to strike an ideal balance between solid, suspenseful storytelling and the delivery of worthwhile Christian messages without being over-the-top preachy. All the books in the series, while undeniable in their Christian content, are suitable for the mainstream market as well and thus should find a broad audience. It is also important to note that they were designed not just in regard to what they offer, but what they don’t offer---readers will not have to deal with inappropriate language, gratuitous sexual content, brazen violence, or any of the similar nonsense that characterizes so many other forms of contemporary storytelling. The subject matter might be somewhat advanced in places,
    but it can be safely absorbed and enjoyed by people from all walks of life.

    Final Statements

    Recommended Reading Age: 16+.  There is a good bit of violence and some sexual references (not graphic).

    Overall Rating: 4/5

    Friday, November 15, 2013

    Throwback Thursday Book Edition #5: The Ultimate Gift by Jim Stovall

    I am sorry it is a day late.

    General Analysis

    Book Title: The Ultimate Gift

    Author: Jim Stovall

    Publish Date: June 15, 2001

    Genres: Christian Fiction, Inspirational, Adult

    Plot (from GoodReads): What would you do to inherit a million dollars? Would you be willing to change your life? Jason Stevens is about to find out in Jim Stovall's The Ultimate Gift.

    Red Stevens has died, and the older members of his family receive their millions with greedy anticipation. But a different fate awaits young Jason, whom Stevens, his great-uncle, believes may be the last vestige of hope in the family.

    "Although to date your life seems to be a sorry excuse for anything I would call promising, there does seem to be a spark of something in you that I hope we can fan into a flame. For that reason, I am not making you an instant millionaire."

    What Stevens does give Jason leads to The Ultimate Gift. Young and old will take this timeless tale to heart.

    Why and When I Read This Book:  I read this book two years ago as a freshman in college.  I had seen the movie and to date it is still my favorite movie.

    In Depth Analysis

    The concept of this book is really great.  A man dies and leaves these secret gifts to his grandson.  If all the tasks are completed as asked in his will, his grandson will get "the ultimate gift".  When I had started reading this book, I had already seen the movie and that affected my view of the book some.  I really enjoyed the movie and had very high expectations for the book.  The plot and the characters in the book are very enjoyable.  My only complaint is the point of view that the book has.  The book is in third person and follows the grandfather's assistant.  I think that it would have been executed better if it was in third person, but following the grandson, like the movie.  The movie does not give a very good view of the lives of the characters, and I really enjoyed that in the movie.

    Nonetheless, The Ultimate Gift  was a very inspirational novel.  The grandson learns life lessons throughout the novel.  The novel really made me think about the way I view life and what is really important in life.  I was excited to see what the next step would be that the grandson would need to do and whether he would continue to do things that he did not really want to do.

    Final Statements

    Recommended Reading Age:  Any age

    Overall Rating:  4/5

    Wednesday, November 13, 2013

    Book Blast Spell Fire and $50 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash Giveaway

    This week I am participating in a book blast.  I have NOT read this book, but I thought that I would share it with ya'll.  There is a $50 amazon gift card or paypal cash giveaway at the bottom of the page.

    Spell Fire
    Spell Fire, The Teen Wytche Saga #3

    By Ariella Moon


    New school. New friends. New reputation. High school sophomore Ainslie Avalon-Bennett works hard to hide her Crazy Girl past. But as long as her best friend’s disappearance remains unsolved, she can’t shake the depression and obsessive-compulsive disorder that once landed her in a mental ward.

    Ainslie’s tenuous control over her life shatters when her warring parents ditch her at Christmas. While they take a cruise to “work things out,” Ainslie must spend the holiday in Palm Springs with her aunt and uncle, owners of a struggling Mystery School and occult store. Plunged into the world of fire fortunes, dragons, entity eaters, and an ailing spell book, Ainslie is well beyond her comfort zone. Then she meets a boy who spikes her pulse and calms her OCD. But will she lose him once he discovers her past? Or will his deadly secret, hidden in plain view, be their undoing?

    amazon blog Barnes and Noble
    ariellaAuthor Ariella Moon

    Ariella Moon writes about magic, friendship, secrets, and love in her Young Adult novels, Spell Check, Spell Struck, and Spell Fire, Books 1, 2, & 3 in The Teen Wytche Saga. Ariella spent her childhood searching for a magical wardrobe that would transport her to Narnia. Extreme math anxiety, and taller students who mistook her for a leaning post, marred Ariella’s teen years. Despite these horrors, she graduated summa cum laude from the University of California at Davis. An author and shaman, she now lives a nearly normal life with her extraordinary daughter, shamelessly spoiled dog, and an enormous dragon.

    Social Media Website Social Media Blog Social Media Facebook Social Media Goodreads
    Spell Fire Excerpt

    My body elongated, and I swore I grew six inches. Inside the cafe, there was no line. Another miracle. I paused beneath the fern‑painted ceiling fan and scanned the wall menu. I wasn't sure what I was looking for, but a weird craving fueled my search.

    The dragon exerted pressure between my shoulder blades, prompting me. "A Scorpion's Nest smoothie."

    Morningstar leaned over the high counter and gave me a onceover. "You feeling okay?"

    I licked my lips. "Absolutely." I had never tasted an orange juice, vanilla ice cream, and peanut butter combo, but I slapped the countertop and said, "I'm fine. Hit me."

    Morningstar tilted her head to one side and studied me.

    Oh — crap. Maybe I'm dragon drunk.

    I wiped the drool from the corner of my mouth stood straighter. I could do this. I could act normal and in control. Behind me, the dragon blew on my hair. I clawed back the stray locks. "Strong ceiling fan."

    Morningstar glanced up. I held my gaze steady on her face and tried to remember if the fan was actually on. I couldn't hear the whir of its motor or feel the stir of cool air. I can't feel anything. I went for distraction and slipped a ten across the counter.

    Morningstar leveled her gaze, then handed me my change. "I'll bring the smoothie to your table."

    "Cool." My eyes crossed. I pivoted and fell out of my right flip‑flop. Fortunately, the place was almost empty, and I didn't think anyone saw me stumble. Still, my face heated as I chose a table with plenty of space behind it for the dragon and my invisible wings.

    "Mind if I join you for a minute?" Morningstar asked when she brought my drink.

    "Please." I giggled, giddy with dragon energy. I was a bright, beneficent angel among earthlings. I was — as crazy as my parents feared.

    Book Blast Giveaway
    $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
    Ends 12/20/13

    Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

    a Rafflecopter giveaway